Back to the kitchen…

28 Aug

IMG00627-20120724-2230 It’s not difficult to notice that I have been absent for a while. No I have not abandoned my blog or lost interest in blogging; I’ve spent the last 7 weeks in the land of the Kama Sutra (India of course). Home was a 5 star hotel with multiple restaurants, bars, night club, lounges, delicatessen, beauty parlor, hair salon and a mini shopping plaza with all the expensive labels. But sadly no kitchen.

Some may be wondering why I would need a kitchen when I’m staying in a luxurious hotel? The answer is easy. Satisfaction. Even with a room service menu that spans at least 3 continents, there is still nothing more satisfying than to source your own ingredients, prepare and create.

Whilst I did have the opportunity to taste some amazing food outside the hotel like creative dim sums at Yauatcha, hand-made pasta at Mia Cucina and street food around the Mohammed Ali Road area, I missed being in the kitchen. I still yearned for cooking even though I was immersed in the best Indian cuisine like paneer tikka, dhal makhani, achari tikka, Hyderbadi biryani, dosas, idlis, etc. (trust me the list is much longer)

I did have one opportunity to bash around in the kitchen whilst in Mumbai but that wasn’t without its own challenge. After much anticipation and venturing the streets to source the freshest ingredients, we discovered that the 2 burner was out of gas. So with a little improvisation we exploited every feature of a toaster oven and a petite kitchen (including borrowing a few utensils from the friendly neighbours) to create a delightful dinner.

We prepared an arugula salad with goat cheese, freshly grated beetroot and dressed it with olive oil; vege burgers with a patty of shredded carrot, zucchini, chickpeas, coriander, layered with herbed eggplant slices, a few leaves of cos lettuce and smothered with tahini sauce; and, rosemary potato wedges. It ended up being one of the most satisfying meals: simple to make, tasty and devoured in great company.

So now that I’m back, what’s to come? Several posts including: “I lost my appetite at Noori Mohammed Hotel”, “How to make real falafel” and “Quails the easy way”. So stand by. For now, I’ll leave you with a few photos taken with a Blackberry camera (soon to be overshadowed by the Canon G12).

IMG00620-20120724-2120 IMG00626-20120724-2229IMG00622-20120724-2139

One Response to “Back to the kitchen…”

  1. maevert August 30, 2012 at 11:08 PM #

    Yum! Hyderabadi Biryani straight from Hyderabad and “packed for airplane madam!”. Can’t wait for more posts Neil!

Leave a Reply

